While adult use cannabis remains illegal in Virginia, the state does have in place a limited medical cannabis program accessible to patients who obtain a recommendation from a physician. CBD hemp oil is legal to purchase and consume in Virginia.
CBD from Hemp Oil in Virginia
Hemp CBD oil is federally legal in the U.S. Individual state laws, however, are dynamic and some states have and will enact their own laws regulating hemp-derived CBD. Virginia may govern hemp-derived CBD oil.
Medical Cannabis in Virginia
Over recent years, Virginia has established and advanced patient-focused medical cannabis policies.
In early 2015, the state passed a highly conservative cannabidiol (CBD) laws. The law only allowed for an affirmative defense against prosecution for individuals who have intractable epilepsy, or guardians of those suffering from intractable epilepsy, so long as the product they’re in possession of is a cannabis extract that contains more than 15% CBD and no more than 5 % THC. Despite this law providing a legal defense, products derived from marijuana remained illegal in the state.
Since then, Virginia has expanded its medical cannabis program. In March 2018, Gov. Ralph Northam signed a bill expanding the program to include patients with any condition that practitioners believe would benefit from cannabis, not just those diagnosed with epilepsy. In March 2019, the governor signed a bill (SB 1557) that allows Virginians to obtain a certificate for use of CBD and THC-A products from a doctor, physicians assistant, or licensed nurse practitioner. The new law also expanded the type of accessible products to include oils, capsules, lozenges, patches, lollipops, and more. The bill also ups the cap on amounts of THC within each serving of CBD of THC-A product to 10 mg.
Recreational Cannabis in Virginia
Possession of cannabis in any amount is a misdemeanor in Virginia. Possession of less than half an ounce is punishable by 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 for the first offense, while subsequent offenses can result into as much as a year of incarceration and a maximum fine of $2,500. Conditional release can be offered to people facing their first offense, which removes the charge from an individual’s record after successfully completing probation.
A July 2016 Virginia Commonwealth University poll found that 8 of 10 Virginians support reducing the penalty for possessing small amounts of cannabis to a $100 fine instead of a misdemeanor conviction. Virginia lawmakers have introduced several decriminalization bills over the past couple of years, but none have garnered any real momentum.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Virginia
The cultivation of cannabis for personal or medicinal use is illegal in Virginia.
In 2015, the legislature of Virginia did pass Senate Bill 955, which allows for the cultivation of industrial hemp as part of a university-managed research program. Universities in Virginia may work with the state’s Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to establish industrial hemp research programs.
- http://medicalCannabis.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000881 – DC