After a slew of unsuccessful attempts, the state of Ohio finally improved its cannabis policies this year by passing comprehensive medical cannabis legislation.
CBD from Hemp Oil in Ohio
Hemp CBD oil is federally legal in the U.S. Individual state laws, however, are dynamic and some states have and will enact their own laws regulating hemp-derived CBD.
Medical Cannabis in Ohio
Ohio became the 25th U.S. state to legalize medical cannabis after Gov. John Kasich House Bill 523 into law in June 2016. Under the law, patients with a recommendation from a Ohio-licensed doctor are allowed cannabis plant material, edibles, patches, oils and tinctures. The law, however, prohibits smokable cannabis products and home cultivation.
The law took effect September 6, 2016. However, the state still needs to up dispensaries and the program is not expected to be operational until September 2018. Until then, lawmakers are allowing patients to travel to Michigan or other nearby legal states to purchase cannabis and carry it back across state lines.
The following conditions are approved for medical cannabis prescription in the state:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Epilepsy and other Seizures Disorders
- Hepatitis C
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Pain (Chronic, Severe or Intractable)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Spinal Cord Disease or Injury
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Traumatic Brain Injury
- Ulcerative Colitis
The Board of Pharmacy is currently developing rules regarding patient registration and the rules will be finalized by September 2017.
Find the Ohio Medical Cannabis Control Program website, here.
Recreational Cannabis in Ohio
The small bright spot in Ohio’s adult use cannabis policy is that the possession of less than 100 grams in punishable as a minor misdemeanor and requires only a $150 fine. Additionally, in November 2016, voters in four Ohio cities — Newark, Bellaire, Logan and Roseville — passed a measure to eliminate all criminal penalties and remove driver’s license suspensions associated with the possession of less than 200 grams. In Ohio, minor misdemeanors do not become part of a person’s criminal record. Unfortunately, possession of greater quantities is still a standard misdemeanor or felony, which can be punished by fines of $250 to $20,000, and 30 day to 8 year prison terms.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Ohio
There are currently no policies that support cultivation of cannabis for agricultural, research or commercial purposes in Ohio. Cultivation in Ohio is punished as possession.