Kansas has had historically some of the harshest cannabis laws in the country. However, the population does support the legalization of medical cannabis, and new legislation has been proposed repeatedly. Additionally, the legislature recently reduced penalties for cannabis possession.
CBD from Hemp Oil in Kansas
Hemp CBD oil is federally legal in the U.S. Individual state laws, however, are dynamic and some states have and will enact their own laws regulating hemp-derived CBD.
Medical Cannabis in Kansas
Medical cannabis is illegal in Kansas, even for the most debilitating physical conditions. The same penalties apply as in the case of recreational cannabis possession and sale. During the 2016 legislative session, Rep. John Wilson introduced a low-THC medicinal cannabis bill, and while it passed the Kansas House of Representatives, it did not manage to pass the Senate.
Recreational Cannabis in Kansas
While Kansas’ cannabis laws continue to be among the strictest in the United States, in May 2016, a measure approved by Gov. Sam Brownback reduced penalties for possession. The penalty for first-time possession was reduced from a maximum jail sentence of 1 year to 6 months. A second possession offense was reduced from a low-level felony to a misdemeanor with a sentence of up to a year in jail. Subsequent offenses are susceptible to a prison sentence ranging 10 to 42 months.
Sale or distribution of any quantity of recreational cannabis remains a felony with the length of jail term depending on the quantity possessed. Selling marijuana within 1000 feet of a school zone results in a mandatory minimum sentence of 4 years.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Kansas
Cultivation of cannabis in Kansas is a felony. Prison terms range from 46 to 204 months with the maximum fine being $500,000. Kansas also has not made any policy changes that would allow the legal cultivation of industrial hemp.