A conservative state, Georgia has historically been resistant to cannabis legislation. However, the state has taken a small favorable step forward by passing a medical CBD oil law. Further progress toward a comprehensive medical cannabis law or the legalization of recreational use, however, does not appear to be forthcoming.
CBD from Hemp Oil in Georgia
Hemp CBD oil is federally legal in the U.S. Individual state laws, however, are dynamic and some states have and will enact their own laws regulating hemp-derived CBD. Georgia may be one such state that governs hemp-derived CBD.
Medical Cannabis in Georgia
Georgia’s policy on medical cannabis took a turn for the better on April 16, 2015 when Gov. Nathan Deal signed into law House Bill 1. While the law is far from a comprehensive medical cannabis law, the law does legalize the use of up to 20 ounces of CBD cannabis oil containing up to 5% percent THC — for patients suffering from various illnesses.
Under House Bill 1, the use of cannabis oil is legal for medical patients diagnosed with:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Mitochondrial Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Seizure Disorders
- Sickle Cell Disease
You can find the Georgia Department of Public Health Low THC Oil Registry website here.
Recreational Cannabis in Georgia
Recreational cannabis is illegal in Georgia. Possession of up to 1 ounce is a misdemeanor punishable by 1 year in jail and a maximum fine of $6,000. First-time offenders may be given a conditional discharge, which can include the payment of fines and community service. Possession of any amount for non-personal use will be charged as a felony, punishable by a 1-year mandatory minimum sentence and a maximum fine of $15,000. The sale or delivery of any amount of cannabis is dealt with even more harshly with jail terms ranging from 2 years to life and a maximum fine of $60,000.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Florida
It is illegal to cultivate cannabis in Georgia for any purpose. Cannabis cultivation is a felony offense in Georgia and can lead to incarceration from 1 to 10 years.