Colorado is one of the most liberal states in the U.S. in regards to its attitude toward cannabis. Colorado voters approved Amendment 64 to legalize the sale, cultivation, and possession of recreational cannabis in 2012. Having already passed comprehensive medical marijuana legislation, the legal cannabis market in Colorado reached over $1 billion dollars in 2016.
CBD from Hemp Oil in Colorado
Hemp CBD oil is federally legal in the U.S. Individual state laws, however, are dynamic and some states have and will enact their own laws regulating hemp-derived CBD.
Medical Cannabis in Colorado
Medical cannabis has been legal in Colorado since 2001. With the written approval from a physician, patients can legally use, possess, and cultivate marijuana under the law.
Qualified patients can possess up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis and up to 6 cannabis plants.
Colorado’s medical marijuana law expands legal access to minors, provided they have parental consent. As of June 2016, schools in Colorado are required to allow students access to medical cannabis while on school grounds after Gov. John Hickenlooper signed “Jack’s Law.”
Approved conditions in Colorado are as follows:
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain
- Epilepsy and other Seizure Disorders
- HIV or AIDS
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Other conditions are subject to approval by the Colorado Board of Health.
You can find the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment Medical Marijuana Registry website here.
Recreational Cannabis in Colorado
Colorado legalized recreational cannabis for adults aged 21 and older in November 2012. Under the law, adults can legally sell, possess, or transport up to 1 ounce of cannabis. The consumption of cannabis must be done in private.
Being caught with cannabis quantities of more than 1 ounce to 2 ounces is considered a petty offense and susceptible to a maximum fine of $100. Possessing 2 to 6 ounces of cannabis is a misdemeanor and punishable to a maximum fine of $700 and incarceration of up to 12 months. Possessing 6 to 12 ounces of cannabis is also a misdemeanor, punishable to a maximum fine of $5,000 and incarceration of 6 to 18 months. Possessing more than 12 ounces of cannabis is a felony, punishable to incarceration of 1 to 2 years and a maximum fine of $100,000.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Colorado
Colorado’s law allows individuals to grow up to six plants on their properties for both medical and non-medical purposes. However, just three of the plants can be mature at any one time. Trimmings from these plants can be shared with adults over 21 without financial remuneration.